Babin’ Chocolate and Being Vs Doing

I haven’t had sex in over a year. I kissed one guy one time a few months ago. My last relationship ended five years ago, about the same time I moved to the desert. I can count on one hand the times I saw my family and friends last year. I have lost count of all the birthdays, housewarmings and births I’ve missed. I don’t have FOMO, I just MO. I know, call a wambulance, cry me a river etc. Soz to bring down the vibe, but stick with me, it has a happy ending.

I told my Dad last year I was sick of waiting to figure out what I was supposed to do with my life, I just wanted to be doing it already. He told me I’d never figure it out. He reckons he hasn’t figured it out, even though he’s been a teacher his whole life. Mum hasn’t figured it out. She’s re-trained and changed careers dramatically so many times. They’re both using their skills to contribute something to make the world a better place, constantly challenging themselves, broadening their horizons. They both still sometimes find it hard to balance family, work and relationships, but they’ve turned out OK. They are happy where they are at whatever stage they’re at. Mum tells me I focus too much on DOING and not enough on BEING.

It’s time for a change. I’m going to move back to the east coast. I’m going to live somewhere that is with a day’s drive or one plane trip to my family. I’m going to live somewhere with a dance studio and a theatre.

I’m going to move to a city. I’ve never lived in one before. My hometown of Canberra is really just a small town. I think I’m going to move in October. I’ve been reading frankie magazine and The Bedroom Philosopher Diaries in an effort to understand the hipster thing, but frankly, I don’t think I’m whimsical enough.

I don’t know exactly what I’m going to DO, but here’s what I’m going to BE: a sister, a daughter, a granddaughter, a cousin, a niece, a friend, a dancer and hopefully a girlfriend.

So wish me luck, Dear Readers. I won’t abandon you, this is just a new chapter, literally and metaphorically. I’ll keep writing. I’ve joined (and paid for!) eHarmony and I continue to peruse the old Oasis. I’m starting guest posting on dating advice sites. I also want to write about other aspects of living in Remote and Regional Australia, working in an Indigenous Community. Capital letters. Don’t worry, I aint gunna get all political on yo ass, just putting the ‘desert’ back in ‘desertdates’ yo.

Finally, just because this entry has been a bit serious, here’s a list of search terms that people have punched into Google to come across my blog, enjoy:

  • Dance floor ratio
  • Pilbara hipster
  • Meeting a contortionist on a blind date
  • How to fling it formula
  • Self indulgent introspection
  • Babe radar asian cute girl
  • Lao object puppetry
  • Western desert hand signals
  • Real hot dress
  • Carpenters waistcoat
  • Reverse culture shock aboriginals
  • Weird speed dating Australia
  • Kardashians empire 2013
  • How to make a good hipster house party
  • Middle aged women want a future
  • Bed woman horse riding.com
  • Babin’ chocolate
  • Electrifying eye contact

And my two personal favourites

  • Is there any desert in Melbourne?
  • Could a Mormon break dance?
6 thoughts on “Babin’ Chocolate and Being Vs Doing

  1. 🙂 I am so glad I read this… 1. coz your awesome, 2. coz it has made my day, 3. coz I too have been single for 5 years, 4. coz I love honesty, 5. coz it is the reminder I needed today, to be, that the doing is always happening, that we can change at whim and its ok… legend!!!

  2. I love your blog! I’ll take your bush dance and raise you a ceilidh: I don’t think my blog would exist without them! Good luck with the move, and look forward to reading more 🙂 . MBE

    • OMG this is awesome! I knew there were other weird dating storytellers out there! Please tell me more about ceilidhs! PS: I’ve subscribed to madblogsandenglishmen – the name alone is awesome enough!

Leave a Reply

